Online Divorce in Missouri
Divorce Online in Missouri
If a couple wants to get a divorce online in Missouri, the most convenient and cost-effective option would be to turn to Online Missouri Divorce for help. First, the platform generates the correct divorce forms specifically for your case and helps you complete the paperwork correctly. You can no longer spend exorbitant amounts on divorce lawyers with this service!
Secondly, it is super fast. Within two business days, you will receive ready-made documents for your case. All you need is to fill in a particular questionnaire based on the answers in which the system will generate forms.
Here are the main pluses of Online Missouri Divorce:
- Low-cost price.
The service is many times cheaper than the average divorce lawyer in Missouri.
Spouses do not depend on a lawyer's schedule and location.
- Effortless access.
The couple can access the platform from any device.
Spouses work with the forms from anywhere and anytime and make adjustments to the documents at any stage.
- High-speed procedure.
Ready-made forms are available for download within two business days.
- Simple litigation.
Online Missouri Divorce offers detailed written instructions on how to file papers in every state, including Missouri.
How to qualify for an online divorce?
Any couple who wants to have an uncontested divorce online in Missouri can use the platform's service to select and complete documents for divorce.
It doesn't matter how long the spouses have been married and whether they have children. The main thing is to file for divorce by mutual consent and come to an agreement on the key points of divorce, such as alimony, property division, child support, etc.
Compare Your Options for Filing for Divorce in Missouri
Divorce With a Lawyer
Traditional litigation, where separate lawyers protect the interests of each party.
- Divorce lawyers typically charge between $200 and $500 per hour
- Sometimes an attorney provokes new conflicts
- An aggressive environment negatively affects children
- Often the most extended proceeding
- The couple depends on the lawyer's schedule
The premier uncontested divorce tool
A quick, cheap, and easy solution to file for divorce online in Missouri yourself.
- Transparent and user-friendly service
- Work with documents from any convenient place
- Forms are generated automatically
- Ideal for an amicable divorce without legal battles
- Low cost: much cheaper than the most budget lawyer in Missouri
The cheapest option, but it does not guarantee efficiency.
- Proceedings may lead to an unfair outcome
- Ignorance of the laws affects the completion of the documents
- Spouses may receive less than expected
- Often delayed due to incorrect filling out of forms
- This may lead to additional financial expenses
What Forms Do I Need to File for Divorce in Missouri?
Missouri requires two primary forms to file for divorce:
- Petition For Dissolution Of Marriage (to end a marriage)
- Filing Information Sheet (to provide information to the court).
Also, depending on the specific case, the presence or absence of minor children, and other factors, spouses may need such additional forms:
- Divorce Summons
- Certification Of Dissolution Of Marriage
- Parenting Plan Part A
- Parenting Plan Part B
- Divorce Instructions
- Judgment Of Dissolution Of Marriage
- Notice Of Hearing
- Statement Of Income And Expense
- Statement Of Property And Debt
- Waiver Of Service And Entry Of Appearance.
How to Fill Out Missouri Divorce Papers
1. Filling out divorce papers in Missouri begins with the spouses getting the necessary forms. If the couple wants to divorce online in Missouri, they can download the needed documents from the Missouri State Judicial Branch website or ask the district court clerk where they will apply.
2. Any uncontested divorce in Missouri begins with filing two mandatory forms – Petition For Dissolution Of Marriage and Filing Information Sheet. Suppose the couple has any children from the marriage (under 18 y. o. and still in high school, or children who are unemancipated under 21 y. o.). In that case, spouses must include their manes in these forms so the court may make orders regarding child support and child custody.
3. On the Missouri courts website, a couple can find a brochure with completed divorce forms. These forms require a lot of information, so it's best to read all the papers first, collect the information, and only then fill out the forms online. Also, spouses can print blank forms to file with the court in person.
4. When applying, the applicant must pay the filing fee to the court or request a legit fee waiver. The court fees vary from county to county in Missouri, but it does not cost more than $225.
5. Also, spouses filing divorce papers should remember to be extremely careful with adding information. One mistake in a form, and the court will not accept the document.
File for Divorce Online in Missouri Without a Lawyer
Filing Requirements for Online Divorce in Missouri
In Missouri, divorces are handled by The Judicial Branch of Missouri. Therefore, anyone who wants to get a divorce in the state can avoid the services of an expensive lawyer and download and fill out the forms on the Missouri State Judicial Branch website. Also, if the couple needs help with their paperwork, they can contact Online Missouri Divorce.
There are several ways to apply in Missouri legally:
- Spouses can file online through the e-filing system instead of going to court in person;
- A couple can send documents by mail to the court;
- Spouses can come to court in person;
- Ex-partners can use the additional services of Online Missouri Divorce for filing documents with the court.
Also, spouses must meet residency requirements and clearly state the legal grounds for divorce. The couple can use both no-fault and fault-based grounds for divorce in Missouri.
No-Fault Grounds for Divorce
Spouses may obtain a no-fault divorce if the judge determines that there is no reasonable possibility that the marriage can be saved. Therefore, the marriage is irrevocably broken and cannot be fixed. If both spouses agree that the marriage is irrevocably dissolved, the judge may allow them to divorce after considering the petition and holding a hearing.
Fault-Based Grounds for Divorce
If one of the spouses blames the other for the dissolution of the marriage, they can use the following fault-based grounds:
- If one of the spouses:
— Has committed adultery;
— Has behaved in such a way that the other can’t be reasonably expected to live with them;
— Has abandoned the other for at least six uninterrupted (continuous) months before a plaintiff filed for divorce;
- Or if the spouses:
— Have lived separately for at least 12 straight months before filing for divorce, and there was a “mutual agreement”;
— Have lived separately for at least 24 months straight before one of them filed for divorce, but there was no "mutual agreement."
Do-It-Yourself Divorce in Missouri
To complete a DIY divorce in Missouri, the couple needs to follow the steps described below.
Step 1. Meet the residency requirements.
To be eligible to apply for a divorce in Missouri, either spouse must have resided in the state or been in the military stationed in Missouri for at least 90 days before the applicant filed for divorce; and at least 30 days must elapse from the date of filing a divorce application to the actual divorce.
Step 2. Choose legal grounds for divorce.
Depending on the specific situation and the agreements of the spouses, they can choose both a no-fault divorce and a fault-based one. A no-fault divorce means an "irrevocably broken marriage," while fault-based grounds mean adultery, abusive behavior, abandonment, etc.
Step 3. Complete required divorce forms.
If the couple wants to file for a divorce without a divorce attorney, they can download the documents from the Missouri State Judicial Branch website and fill them out. The spouses can also obtain the papers from the district court clerk where they will apply. The divorce process begins with filing a Petition for Dissolution document and the appropriate family and parenting documentation if necessary.
Step 4. Serve the spouse.
Under Missouri law, the complainant must serve the defendant with copies of all documents. They can do this using the following methods:
- By sheriff's office (for an extra charge);
- By server process (a private server will also charge for the service).
After the applicant submits copies, the respondent must complete an “Answer.”
Step 5. Finalize the divorce.
The couple will need to present the case at a court hearings before the family court before the judge signs the divorce order. If the judge is satisfied with the couple's evidence, they will sign the divorce decree.
- All Required Missouri State Forms.
- Missouri-Specific Court Filing Instructions.
- Unlimited Revisions for as long as your account is active.
Getting a Divorce With Children in Missouri
There are two types of child custody in Missouri — physical custody and legal custody.
Physical custody is a decision about who the child will live with, while legal custody determines which parent has the right to make decisions in the child's life. If a court grants a parent sole legal custody, only that parent has the right to make decisions. In joint legal custody, both parents have a say in decisions about raising the kids.
List of factors that the court takes into account when determining custody:
- The wishes of each parent and child regarding custody;
- The child's need for meaningful relationships with both parents;
- The child's interactions and relationships with parents, siblings, etc.;
- Adjusting the child to home, school, and society;
- Mental and physical health of all participants;
- Plans of one of the parents to move the child, etc.
Parents must pay child support until the child reaches 18 years of age as a general rule. However, there are some exceptions. For example, support may continue until age 21 if the child is still in school. In addition, the support period may be shorter if the child marries, joins the military, or otherwise becomes independent.
The amount of child support depends on several factors such as the number of children and the income of both parents, etc. To help a couple calculate their fair share of child support, Missouri courts provide a child support calculator based on the Missouri child support guidelines.
Residency Requirements in MO
To file for a divorce online in Missouri, the spouses must meet residency requirements for the court to accept the case. However, if the court finds it does not have jurisdictional rights to hear the case, it will not be taken or eventually rejected.
The residency requirements for couples are as follows:
- One spouse must be a resident of Missouri or a member of the military who has been in that state for ninety days immediately before filing for divorce;
- Thirty days must elapse from the date of filing for divorce until the dissolution of the marriage.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Divorce in Missouri
The waiting period for a divorce in Missouri is 30 days. The application for divorce must be on file for 30 days before the court issues a divorce order. After 30 days, the spouses may apply to the secretary for the appointment of a trial for the case. If the couple has children, they must attend a parenting class before considering the case. Also, the district clerk will have all the necessary information about the course.
Frequently Asked Questions
How to file for an uncontested divorce in Missouri?
Spouses can file online through the e-filing system, send papers by mail to the court, come to court in person and file divorce documents, or use the additional services of Online Missouri Divorce for filing documents with the court.
How much does a divorce cost in Missouri?
Missouri's filing fees vary by county, but it does not cost more than $225 for an uncontested divorce. The average cost for a contested divorce in MO is $13,500 and $20,200 when children are involved.
How to get a free divorce in Missouri?
If the couple cannot pay the filing fee, they can get a fee waiver by proving to the court that they are in financial hardship.
How to get divorce papers in Missouri?
Couples can find all the necessary forms on the Missouri State Judicial Branch website or can request the required documents from the court clerk of the district where they live. They can also use Online Missouri Divorce to generate ready-to-sign forms within two business days.
Where do I go to file for an uncontested divorce in Missouri?
Once the required divorce papers are completed, they must be filed at the clerk’s office in the appropriate county or online using the e-filing system.
What are the grounds for divorce in Missouri?
Missouri has both fault and no-fault grounds for divorce. Grounds without fault include the "irrevocably broken marriage,” while fault-based grounds include adultery, abusive behavior, abandonment, etc.
How is property divided in a Missouri Divorce?
Missouri is an equitable distribution state, which means that property will be divided by the court in a way that is fair to both parties but not necessarily equally.